The Indian Citizenship Act of 1924

On June 2, 1924, Congress enacted the Indian Citizenship Act, which authorized the Secretary of the Interior to issue certificates of citizenship to all Native Americans born in the U.S. The right to vote, however, was governed by state law; until 1957, some states barred Native Americans from voting.

This was done after Native American Indians had already fought in three wars for the United States of America.